Is there such a thing as a bad coupon?

I’ve had these two slips of paper in my backpack for over a month now, resisting recycling them because of their inherent value (free 7-day gym membership & 10% off at Los Agaves). That said, I was surprised to notice that such value be displayed so poorly. What does it say about the quality of what Spectrum Athletic Club and Los Agaves are offering?

Lucky for me, I know that Los Agaves is AMAZING and that Spectrum Athletics has a good rep, but not everyone given these coupons may know this. It would benefit Spectrum and Los Agaves to add a little pizazz to attract the customers they seek.

Since these were given to me together and both have limited necessary information, I’ve decided to redesign both. Here is my critique to show why adding pizazz is pertinent based on the “big four”:

Contrast – The font across both coupons is entirely. How do we differentiate which is which and what the offer even is? Adding contrast to emphasize the offer would allow readers to look at the paper and immediately know what it is for

Alignment – Everything is aligned in the center which is uniform, but also makes it difficult to read. Aligning headings in the center and body text to the right where they eye naturally goes might make these more readable.

Repetition – The designer may have used a little too much repetition here by using the same font across the board.

Proximity – Why Los Agaves, a restaurant, and Spectrum, a gym? The proximity of these two business names is quite confusing.

Leave a comment